Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Binary Boss
cdrymon
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-30-2011
0

Re: C300 + M4 Raid 0 Bad Idea?

in reply to m0fus

I disabled LPM through the registry thing if that's what you mean.

Write caching is enabled.

Firmware is now updated. I updated the drivers earlier today.

 

Binary Boss
cdrymon
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-30-2011
0

Re: C300 + M4 Raid 0 Bad Idea?

[ Edited ]
in reply to cdrymon

C300 + M4 Raid-0 128K Stripes, LPM Enabled, Write Cache Enabled:

C300-M4 AS-SSD-Bench.png

My scores more than doubled except for the 4K Read & Write. It dropped a few MB/s there, but I hear that's normal. The 4K-64 Thrd didn't quite double, but increased by about 75%.

Bank and Slot Hot Shot
m0fus
Posts: 1,721
Registered: ‎01-26-2011
0

Re: C300 + M4 Raid 0 Bad Idea?

in reply to cdrymon

can't wait to see!

______________
clean nand and a fresh/aligned install are always best
Binary Boss
cdrymon
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-30-2011
0

Re: C300 + M4 Raid 0 Bad Idea?

in reply to m0fus

My 4K Read is still slower than my 4K Write. Is that normal?

Bank and Slot Hot Shot
m0fus
Posts: 1,721
Registered: ‎01-26-2011
0

Re: C300 + M4 Raid 0 Bad Idea?

in reply to cdrymon

yes. have you updated the firmware on the m4 to 0009?

______________
clean nand and a fresh/aligned install are always best
Binary Boss
cdrymon
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-30-2011
0

Re: C300 + M4 Raid 0 Bad Idea?

in reply to m0fus

Switching to IDE mode, and then back to RAID mode in the Mobo BIOS won't cause me to lose everything will it?

Bank and Slot Hot Shot
m0fus
Posts: 1,721
Registered: ‎01-26-2011
0

Re: C300 + M4 Raid 0 Bad Idea?

in reply to cdrymon

you should be able to flash under ahci. you will be fine, just 'turn off' raid, and flash under ahci, then re start raid.

______________
clean nand and a fresh/aligned install are always best
Binary Boss
cdrymon
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-30-2011
0

Re: C300 + M4 Raid 0 Bad Idea?

[ Edited ]
in reply to m0fus

This ASUS mobo BIOS doesn't really have a switch that turns off the RAID. You just have 3 options: IDE, AHCI, and RAID. I suppose I'll switch it over to AHCI and see what happens. If you don't hear from me for a few hours, you'll know what happened!

 

Edit: No problems. Took 5 minutes.

 

I'm gonna finish some papers, maybe go to class, and then take another benchmark.

Binary Boss
cdrymon
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-30-2011
0

Re: C300 + M4 Raid 0 Bad Idea?

in reply to cdrymon

C300-M4 AS-SSD-BenchNewFirmware.png

 

It's definitely much better than it was! Is this about what you would expect from averaging out the two drives?

Binary Boss
pkincy
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎04-11-2011
0

Re: C300 + M4 Raid 0 Bad Idea?

in reply to cdrymon

thank you for your experiment.

 

I currently have a 256 GB C300 as well as a 128 GB C300 (with nothing on it) in my new build (I7-2600K; Asus P8Z68-V) and an M4 128 GB inbound from the Newegg 32% off sale a couple of days ago.

 

It looks like I will run the 2 128 GB in Raid 0 and use the 256 GB as a data drive.

 

 

Perry

Lenovo W520, I7 2720QM, Crucial M4 512 GB OS/boot, Crucial M4 256 GB Optibay, Intel 80 GB mSata, Q1000M Graphics

Lenovo X220, I7 2620, Samsung 830 Pro SSD,
Intel 80 GB 310 mSata, Intel HD 3000 Graphics

Asus P8Z68-V Mobo, I7-2600K, Radeon HD 6870, 1TB WD Sata 3, C300 256 GB OS Drive; C300 128 GB Data Drive
Our Latest Posts