Kilobyte Kid
dccwilliams

Crucial CT256M225 SSD drive crash/failure on MacBook Pro

Hi,

Around about 6 working days ago, I installed a 256GB Crucial CT256M225 SSD in my April 2009 MacBook Pro.

I am a software engineer and this machine is a workhorse with 8GB RAM installed, and runs both Snow Leopard and Windows Vista, which each have their own partition.

The install onto the drive went fine. Mac Disk Utility recognized the drive immediately and allowed me to make the necessary partitions.

There is no doubt the drive was "stress tested" by the numerous Windows security updates, Vista Service Pack 3 etc. However it

performed absolutely faultlessly (SATA was reported at 3Gbps, so I guess my machine doesn't have the problems of the

mid 2009 MacBook Pros).

But... argh OMG... two hours ago I put it into suspend (I had disabled safe sleep already, so for the avoidance of doubt, that had nothing to do with it) and when I opened the lid an hour later... the machine worked for a few seconds then seemed to freeze... and on rebooting I got the folder + question mark of death.

Booting using the Snow Leopard installation DVD, and running Disk Utility, I can see that the drive is no longer showing i.e. this looks like a total failure (and silly me, I lost a weeks work because I couldn't believe this drive would fail so soon... but anyway...)

MY BIG QUESTION, is whether other people are having similar experiences... should I put this down to experience and go back to a normal hard disk, or risk another CT256M225 on MacBook Pro hardware???

The drive performed great, and not having to worry about moving parts is superb... but only if this doesn't happen every time after a week!

Advice greatly appreciated.

Kilobyte Kid
Nato

Re: Crucial CT256M225 SSD drive crash/failure on MacBook Pro

in reply to dccwilliams