Reply
SODIMM Sherpa
Dionysos
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎02-06-2012
0

Re: low 4K-64K with AS SSD

in reply to Dionysos

Yesterday I received the replacement with latest firmware 0309.

After I installed Windows 7 x64 with all updates, all the drivers I need, antivirus and some basic programs, I run AS SSD. Score: 823

Screenshot:

as-ssd-bench M4-CT128M4SSD2 14.03.2012 15-08-57.png

 

Results are reproducable.

I will bench once a month from now on. It seems, that I am not the only one with that issue, but I  hope it's exceptional.

 

CrystalDiskInfo:

CrystalDiskInfo Screenshot.png

 

 

 

Thanks for the great support.

Bank and Slot Hot Shot
lsdmeasasp
Posts: 4,404
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
0

Re: low 4K-64K with AS SSD

in reply to Dionysos

Great, everything looks good now to you right?  

 

Looks good to me, nice to see you had a fast turnaround on the replacement too!

Kilobyte Kid
Buxstr
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-14-2012
0

Re: low 4K-64K with AS SSD

in reply to lsdmeasasp

We will have to wait and see if this fixes this problem. A secure erase and restore looks great too afterwards but performance will drop after a few months.  This will be a good test to see if it was drive or system related.

Bank and Slot Hot Shot
lsdmeasasp
Posts: 4,404
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
0

Re: low 4K-64K with AS SSD

in reply to Buxstr

Ahh OK, well keep us posted when you think it's been long enought to know!

 

Hopefully it'll all be sorted out now!

JEDEC Jedi
targetbsp
Posts: 7,455
Registered: ‎08-27-2009
0

Re: low 4K-64K with AS SSD

in reply to lsdmeasasp

I was looking at sata 3.1 today and it seems it adds support for 'queued trim'.

It seems the trim command isn't currently compatible with NCQ and requires the queue to be emptied before the trim command can run and the queue allowed to build up again.

 

Maybe someone with this issue could try disabling trim for the duration of the benchmark?

______________________________________

FAQs and Top Forum Solutions
Did a user help you? Say thanks by giving Kudos!
How do I know what memory to buy?
Still need help? Contact Crucial Customer Service
Remember to regularly backup your important data!

DIMMented
GeneO
Posts: 106
Registered: ‎06-08-2011
0

Re: low 4K-64K with AS SSD

in reply to targetbsp

Hi,

 

A few days after my Secure erase my 4k 64 thrd are down to well over half their secure erase value.

 

I tried set DisableDeleteNotify to 1, rebooted, no change,

 

 

Bank and Slot Hot Shot
lsdmeasasp
Posts: 4,404
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
0

Re: low 4K-64K with AS SSD

[ Edited ]
in reply to GeneO

You do not need to reboot, and I'm not sure if that resets it or not, so please test again without a reboot just to be sure.

 

It's a good idea, but we aren't sure it matters anyway, he was just thinking out loud I believe.  Also, please add your current CMART Data, so Targetbsp can see if anything looks out of the ordinary, thanks!

DIMMented
GeneO
Posts: 106
Registered: ‎06-08-2011
0

Re: low 4K-64K with AS SSD

[ Edited ]
in reply to lsdmeasasp

I thought I might not need to. It did not reset it. I don't know why this would make a difference in any case - it doesn't seem related. It would seem the issue described is TRIM not getting a chance to execute if the queue constantly has work.

 

But thanks for trying.

JEDEC Jedi
targetbsp
Posts: 7,455
Registered: ‎08-27-2009
0

Re: low 4K-64K with AS SSD

in reply to GeneO

From what I understood, it's the other way around.  The queue would be emptied so the trim command can execute.  But I only read one article about it.  And it was only a single paragraph.  So I didn't look into it deeply!

______________________________________

FAQs and Top Forum Solutions
Did a user help you? Say thanks by giving Kudos!
How do I know what memory to buy?
Still need help? Contact Crucial Customer Service
Remember to regularly backup your important data!

SODIMM Sherpa
Dionysos
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎02-06-2012
0

Re: low 4K-64K with AS SSD

in reply to targetbsp

I've just seen that there is a new firmware 000F.

 

So I thought: Right, I should test anyway, if everything is okay with my replaced SSD.

And what can I say... the same "problem" occured again.

 

Screenshot AS SSD: 

as-ssd-bench M4-CT128M4SSD2 12.04.2012 18-05-13.png 

 

You know how pedantically i test, so please don't suggest things like energy saving features, encryption etc.

 

I've seen in forums, that the acc. time will increase with the new firmware.

Will the new firmware fix the "problem" or am I just unlucky?

 

I hope the firmware fixes it, though it would mean, that I sent back the "faulty" SSD and waited for a new one for no reason... :smileysad: